The River Central area is positioned right in the heart of the Lehigh Valley. Included in this subregional area, spanning Lehigh and Northampton Counties, are the boroughs of Catasauqua, North Catasauqua and Northampton, and East Allen and Hanover Townships.

The River Central Multi-Municipal Planning Steering Committee will lead an effort to draft, and to ultimately adopt, a comprehensive plan for the municipalities, shaping their collective vision for the future.

A multi-municipal comprehensive plan allows each municipality to keep their autonomy and control, but allows the communities, as a region, to take advantage of geographic similarities, address common priorities and better manage an evolving development landscape. The multi-municipal plan will determine common goals and objectives for areas of land use, housing, air quality, transportation, development, recreational facilities, natural and scenic resource conservation, farmland preservation and economic development. This joint planning effort also facilitate the sharing of resources in support of the long-term sustainability of the municipalities.

The plan will be used as a road map for the future, but it is also a living document that can be changed and updated as trends and conditions evolve.

Developing the River Central Multi-Municipal Comprehensive Plan will involve monthly steering committee meetings, public outreach and input, and a detailed housing, economic, demographics and land use analysis. The plan is scheduled to be completed by early 2023.

Historical photo courtesy of North Catasauqua Borough